12th Annual "They Are Worthy"
Benefit Softball Tournament,
Daly City, July 18 & 19, 2009

SWC's 12th annual "They are Worthy" Benefit Softball Tournament was held in Daly City on July 18 and 19 at Westlake Park. Approximately $2,400 was raised, and hundreds of pounds of sports equipment donations were collected from participating players and teams, all for SWC programs.

A total of 8 coed teams and 7 men's teams participated in the weekend event. The coed teams were divided into two 4-team divisions (lower and upper). The men's teams were divided into a 3-team lower division and a 4-team upper division. ALL teams in ALL divisions were guaranteed 3 games.

Prizes included T-shirts for championship teams, and a variety of MVP and All Star prizes. All Stars from every team that participated were also awarded prizes ranging from local attraction passes/tickets, gift certificates, gift bags, and T-shirts. There was also a feature raffle with a flip mino camcorder as the grand prize.

Congratulations to all champions, all MVPs and All Stars, and thanks to ALL teams for your participation and support. All funds raised will go directly to providing derserving children with much needed sports equipment, skills training, and mentoring programs (see where we've worked here).

Action-packed photos from tournament play can be found on our friend's Web site (thanks E!) by clicking the following links:


Lower Men's division:

CHAMPS: Rhino Aces
(MVP-Brent Jenkins, All Star-Brian Maihack)

Runners up: Mud City Agents
(All Stars-Marv Florence and Jeff Kravin)

(All Star-Bernie Schlotman)

Lower Coed division:

(MVP-Kendra Fumai, All Stars-Gail Igawa and Marc Majors)

Runners up: Sit on My Base
(All Stars-Horace Liu and Stephanie Stoll)

The Funky Bunch
(All Stars-Joy Trinidad)

(All Stars-Anna Galbraith and Kobe-Wan Kenopo)

Upper Men's division:

CHAMPS: 12 Angry Men
(MVP-Harry Gong, All Star-Tony Marelich)

Runners up: Cybelle's Warriors
(All Stars-Luis Flamenco and Brian Kelly)

The Hit Sox
(All Stars-Brett Dyer)

(All Stars-Eric Sun)

Upper Coed division:

CHAMPS: Corona G.
(MVP-Hector Villafranca, All Stars-Vannessa Gourneau and Jesus Sanchez)

Runners up: 11 Longballers
(All Stars-Debbie Hernandez and Greg Tremelling)

Lucky 10
(All Stars-Robin Bier and Nick Ng)

SF Faultline
(All Stars-Diana Ramirez and Darren Leong)

Donors, sponsors, and supporters of SWC's 12th annual "They are Worthy" Benefit Softball Tournament include:

Jack J. Wolf (Wolf Sports on Wheels)

Elephant Bar Restaurant
Hornblower Cruises & Events [www.hornblower.com]
Malibu Grand Prix
Noah's Bagels
Oakland Athletics
Pier 39
San Francisco Giants
Scandia Family Center
Trader Joe's
Westin St. Francis
Winchester Mystery House

Rennie Owyang (volunteer umpire)
Michael Pineda (volunteer umpire)
John Defiesta (volunteer umpire
Randy Wong (volunteer umpire)
Mark Gong (volunteer umpire)
Jeff Hazel (volunteer umpire)
Dave Mitchell (volunteer umpire)
Anna Louie (San Francisco ASA Commissioner)

Harlan Wong (scheduling)
Kelly Ina
Kathi Yumoto
Kellee Fong Illustration & Design
Frank Tse (Pacific Coast Designs)
Eric Sun (tournament photographer)
Jamie Wong
Olda Madeira-Medina (tamales)

To see results and photos from previous years' tournaments, click on the year below:
2008 results / '08 photos - Coed Sat Sun / Men's Sat Sun
2007 results / 2007 photos
2006 results / 2006 Saturday photos / 2006 Sunday photos
2005 results / 2005 photos
2004 results

SWC tournament and other T-shirts are available by visiting our Support page, or clicking here.

Event Flyer / Invitation

Event Press Release
(Word doc)

Event Registration & Rules
(Word doc)

Got Lunch Order Form
(Word doc)

Sports for the
World's Children
2346 – 32nd Ave
San Francisco CA 94116
tel/fax (415) 566-3487

Copyright 2004-2010. Sports for the Worlds Children Foundation. All Rights Reserved