11th Annual "They Are Worthy"
Benefit Softball Tournament,
San Francisco, July 12 & 13, 2008

SWC's 11th annual "They are Worthy" Benefit Softball Tournament was held in San Francisco on July 12 and 13 at Moscone Recreation Center. Approximately $2,600 was raised, and hundreds of pounds of sports equipment donations were collected from participating players and teams, all for SWC programs.

A total of 8 coed teams and 10 men's teams participated in the weekend event. The coed teams were divided into two 4-team divisions (lower and upper). The men's teams were divided into a 4-team lower division and a 6-team upper division. ALL teams in ALL divisions were guaranteed 3 games.

Championship teams in each division were awarded T-shirts, and the MVPs were each awarded an iPod Shuffle, courtesy Safeway. All Stars from every team that participated were also awarded prizes ranging from gift bags, gift certificates, local attraction passes/tickets, and T-shirts. There were also many other prize opportunties (via raffle) for all participants!

Congratulations to all champions, all MVPs and All Stars, and thanks to ALL teams for your participation and support. All funds raised will go directly to providing derserving children with much needed sports equipment, skills training, and mentoring programs (see where we've worked here).

Action-packed photos from tournament play can be found on our friend's Web site (thanks E!) by clicking the following links:

Saturday COED
Saturday MEN'S

Sunday MEN'S
Sunday COED 

Lower Coed division:

(MVP-Eunok Sohn, All Stars-David Ross and Sarah Smith)

Runners up: Crazy Delicious
(All Stars-Alexis Beckman and Nate Wood)

Sit on My Base
(All Stars-Keo Sar and Stephanie Stoll)

West Sunset Raging Pandas
(All Stars-Jennifer Eng and Tat Leong)

Upper Coed division:

CHAMPS: Damage
(MVP-Adam Grasso, All Stars-Mike Kiwas and Sandra Padilla)

Runners up: Batting for SWC
(All Stars-Kendra Fumai and Steve Stamatas)

11 Longballers
(All Stars-Melanie Danzig and Jon James)

Lucky 13
(All Stars-Andy Fong and Janet Ng)

Lower Men's division:

CHAMPS: Grumpy Old Men
(MVP-Erik Noyes, All Star-Ron McCambridge)

Runners up: Kelley's Tavern
(All Stars-James Berkery and Cale Miller)

Thee Rhino Aces
(All Star-Rick Junsch)

It's a Wolkoff
(All Star-Erik Langley)

Upper Men's division:

CHAMPS: 12 Angry Men
(MVP-Perry Carrubba, All Star-Tony Marelich)

Runners up: Bushwackers
(All Stars-Bob Aikman and Dan Jin)

(All Star-Derrick Chan)

The Beat
(All Star-Jamie Mendoza)

AB Wolves
(All Star-Andy Villarosa)

Haas Hitmen
(All Star-Peddy Khatami)

Donors, sponsors, and supporters of SWC's 11th annual "They are Worthy" Benefit Softball Tournament include:

Safeway, Jack J. Wolf (Wolf Sports on Wheels), Anna Louie (San Francisco ASA Commissioner)

California's Great America
Gilroy Gardens Family Theme Park
Hornblower Cruises & Events [www.hornblower.com]
Krispy Kreme
Malibu Grand Prix
Mel's drive-in
Noah's Bagels
Oakland Athletics
Pier 39
San Francisco Giants
Scandia Family Center
See's Candies
Shopping! The Musical
Six Flags Discovery Kingdom
Trader Joe's
Winchester Mystery House

Rennie Owyang (volunteer umpire)
Michael Pineda (volunteer umpire)
Randy Wong (volunteer umpire)
Jeff Hazel (volunteer umpire)
Henry Jung (grounds crew & volunteer umpire)
Dave Mitchell (grounds crew & volunteer umpire)
Dennis Howell (volunteer umpire)
Mark Gong (volunteer umpire)

Chris Gaggero (SF Municipal Softball League)
Kathi Yumoto
Nicol Juratovac
Kellee Fong Illustration & Design
Eric Sun (tournament photographer)
Harlan Wong
Frank Tse (Pacific Coast Designs)
Amorette Ko
Marissa Wong
Alex (Hahn's Hibachi)
Dickie Ng
Joe Khirallah

To see results and photos from previous years' tournaments, click on the year below:
2007 results / 2007 photos
2006 results / 2006 Saturday photos / 2006 Sunday photos
2005 results / 2005 photos
2004 results

SWC tournament and other T-shirts are available by visiting our Support page, or clicking here.

Sports for the
World's Children
2346 – 32nd Ave
San Francisco CA 94116
tel/fax (415) 566-3487

Copyright 2004-2008. Sports for the Worlds Children Foundation. All Rights Reserved